Via the Bookseller:

French writer Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature 2008.

He has already won Prix Théophraste Renaudot (1963), Prix Larbaud (1972), Grand Prix Jean Giono (1997), Prix Prince de Monaco (1998) and Stig Dagermanpriset (2008). His novel Désert received the Grand Prix Paul Morand from l’Académie française in 1980.

His first novel was Le procès-verbal (The Interrogation) in 1963. He has since written a raft of ecologically-themed novels including Terra amata; Le livre des fuites (The Book of Flights); La guerre (War); and Les géants (The Giants). Among Le Clézio’s most recent works are Ourania (2005); Raga: approche du continent invisible (2006); and Ballaciner (2007). A new work, Ritournelle de la faim, has just been published. Le Clézio has also written several books for young people.

Readers Comments

  1. I've translated one of my favorite Le Clezio shorts: La saison de pluies.
    It is available for anyone who may want a copy.



Leave a Comment

If you have not posted a comment on RSB before, it will need to be approved by the Managing Editor. Once you have an approved comment, you are safe to post further comments. We have also introduced a captcha code to prevent spam.




Enter the code shown here:   [captcha]

Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.